Court Rules
Record Search
Fine Payment
Bond Schedule
Fees & Costs
Small Claims Guide
Community Service
Court Personnel


Due to the COVID-19 crisis, the Lawrence County Municipal Court is making adjustments to the court schedule:

All pending evening traffic dockets are continued to May 26, 2020 at 4:00pm. Any person who has a summons will not be required to attend and there will be no enforcement action submitted to the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles due to non-appearance or failure to pay for persons cited into a traffic court docket prior to the May 26, 2020 docket.

The court's community service program is suspended until the COVID-19 crisis is resolved and the court makes further Orders.

All review hearings are made into telephonic review hearings with the probation department (740) 867-3127 x 29 until further Order of the Court.

All civil hearings and trials are continued indefinitely. The court will not set hearings on small claim cases or forcible entries and detainers until further notice, except where domestic violence is the basis for the eviction. Those cases will be heard as expiditiously as possible.

All criminal trials that are not time sensitive will be continued. Persons who have attorneys representing them should consult with their attorney about when they should appear in court.

All persons having motions or pre-trials should consult with their attorney about their case. The court is conducting as many hearings as possible through teleconferencing and telephone.

The Clerk's office will remain open by appointment only, but encourages everyone to make payments via mail or online at www.lawcomunicourt.com. Only persons having busines before the court should appear in person. Anyone exhibiting signs of illness should not appear. Any questions should be directed to the Clerk of Court by telephone at (740) 867-3127.



To reduce the exposure of the staff ad public to COVID-19, the court will have reduced hours as follows until further order.

Monday - 8:30am - end of court, not earlier than 12:00pm.

Tuesday - 8:30am - 2:00pm

Wednesday - 8:30am - 2:00pm

Thursday - 8:30am - 2:00pm

Friday - 8:30am - end of court, not earlier than 12:00pm.

Contact Information
Phone: 740.867.3127
Fax: 740.867.3547
Probation: 740.867.8543
Lawrence County Municipal Court
Clerk of Court
10916 County Road 1
P.O. Box 126
Chesapeake, OH 45619
Hours of Operation
Monday through Friday
8:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Closed weekends and legal holidays
including the day after Thanksgiving

Court Jurisdiction
The territorial jusrisdiction of The Lawrence County Municipal Court includes the Townships of Perry, Fayette, Symmes, Union, Windsor, Rome, and Mason. The Court consists of the criminal division and the civil division. The criminal division handles traffic, misdemeanor criminal and preliminary hearings in felony cases. The civil division handles complaints of up to $15,000, small claims cases of up to $6,000, and eviction cases.
Administrative Staff
Dorothy M. Bledsoe   Clerk of Court Teddie Spitzer   Deputy Clerk
John T. Majher   Probation Officer Cynthia Lewis   Deputy Clerk
Mark Taylor   Bailiff Melissa Howard   Deputy Clerk
Wesley A. Hawthorne   Back-up Security Doreen K. Fulks   Deputy Clerk
Josh Cooper   Comm. Serv. Coordinator    
Note: Biographical information for the Presiding Judge, Magistrates, and Court Administrator
can be obtained by clicking on the appropriate name below the banner at the top of each page.